Poker Hall of Fame Nomination 2020

It is time to call your friends to submit nominations for the next set for Poker Hall of Fame curated by the World Series of Poker. We all thought 2020 would conclude without inducting new players to the Hall of Fame, but I guess we are wrong.

It is essential to know that last year, Chris MoneyMaker earned a place in the Poker Hall of Fame, and it sparked lots of controversies. Also, David Oppenheim earned a place in the prestigious Poker Hall of Fame.

This year, we will have just one player inducted into the Poker Hall of Fame, which has been the case from 1980 to 2004. WSOP opened the nomination process, and it will remain so till December 11th. To nominate a player, you have to go to quickly so that your vote will count. It is also crucial to know that the nomination process is the first step to the 2020 inductions into the Poker Hall of Fame.

Induction requirements

This year’s requirements are not preposterous. There is no doubt that the Poker Hall of Fame is the most significant honor to a poker player. To be considered for nomination, a player needs to have played well for a long time, played in top competitions, and against top players in the poker industry.

Age is also a requirement; this is because the player must have played for a long and stood the test of time. There are poker players who have done really well in the poker scene but yet to clock forty.

Non-players are also rewarded for their contributions, as some have been very important towards the game’s growth all through the year. This year has eight official finalists for the Hall of Fame induction. However, the eight finalists from 2019 eligible for this year’s Poker Hall of Fame include David Chiu, Chris Bjorin, Ted Forrest, Huckleberry Seed, Mike Matusow, and Antonio Esfandiari.

Nomination process

The nomination process will result in a final ballot of 8-10 options, which will be announced on December 16th by Caesars Entertainment Inc., which acquired the Poker Hall of Fame along with the WSOP in 2004. The final announcement on induction results will be made on December 30th before the final of the WSOP $10,000 Main Event.

Here is a complete list of every member of the Poker Hall of Fame.

Year Inductees
1979 Nick “The Greek” Dandolos, James Butler “Wild Bill” Hickok, Edmond Hoyle, Felton “Corky” McCorquodale, Johnny Moss, Red Winn, Sid Wyman
1980 T “Blondie” Forbes
1981 Bill Boyd
1982 Tom Abdo
1983 Joe Bernstein
1984 Murph Harrold
1985 Red Hodges
1986 Henry Green
1987 Walter Clyde “Puggy” Pearson
1988 Doyle Brunson, Jack “Treetop” Straus
1989 Fred “Sarge” Ferris
1990 Benny Binion
1991 David “Chip” Reese
1992 Thomas Austin “Amarillo Slim” Preston
1993 Jack Keller
1996 Julius Oral “Little Man” Popwell
1997 Roger Moore
2001 Stu “The Kid” Ungar
2002 Johnny Chan, Lyle Berman
2003 Bobby Baldwin
2004 Berry Johnston
2005 Crandell Addington, Jack Binion
2006 Billy Baxter, T.J. Cloutier
2007 Phil Hellmuth, Barbara Enright
2008 Duane “Dewey” Tomko, Henry Orenstein
2009 Mike Sexton
2010 Dan Harrington, Erik Seidel
2011 Barry Greenstein, Linda Johnson
2012 Eric Drache, Brian “Sailor” Roberts
2013 Scotty Nguyen, Tom McEvoy
2014 Jack McClelland, Daniel Negreanu
2015 John Juanda, Jennifer Harman
2016 Todd Brunson, Carlos Mortensen
2017 David Ulliot, Phil Ivey
2018 Mori Eskandani, John Hennigan
2019 Chris Moneymaker, David Oppenheim
Leave A Comment

Terms and Conditions apply.
This offer is only for new customers who are at least 18 years old.
If you need some help with yor gambling pattern and if you feel
that something goes wrong, please visit
About the Author

Lawrence Damilola

Hi Guys, I am Lawrence and I started working for YourPokerDream as a content manager since 2019.
My job is it to manage the news section of YourPokerdream; to write different reviews on our partner sites and create new articles.

Latest changes

The last changes of the page “2020 Poker Hall of Fame Nomination Opens” was made by Lawrence Damilola on December 06, 2020