Daniel Berger

Hi Guys, I am Daniel the chief content manager of YourPokerDream.
I have been working in the poker industry for almost 10 years now.
I do my best to keep you all up to date regarding our partner sites
all promotions and about general poker topics arround the world.

· Published 29.12.2018 · last updated 05.07.2019

The World Series of Poker Player of the Year (POY) race and the formula to determine the winner is always the subject of a debate.

Last year, the discussion at the World Series of Poker was sparked as the organizer took the formula into his own hands after Bluff and the GPI had previously administered the formula. Above all, Daniel Negreanu likes to raise his voice in such matters, claiming that the formula is very bad.

This year, the WSOP has changed the formula by relying on the WSOP points system. The most significant change between the 2017 and 2018 formula is the ratio of points awarded for a win to the points awarded to the min-cash. Last year this ratio could be as small as 3.25-1 or as high as 8.16-1. In 2018, according to a press release from the WSOP, the ratio is always around 20: 1.

2018 WSOP Player of the Year Points Calculator and Example

The WSOP has a Points Calculator online for players to calculate the number of points that can be won at certain events. They also published the following example comparison between the 2017 and 2018 formulas:

POY Calculation

The winner 2018 would be the same as 2017

The overall winner of 2017, Chris Ferguson, would have remained unchanged. Ferguson’s points would have been 3,309 points from 23 Cashes, including 1 bracelet (1st in the € 1,650 Pot-Limit Omaha Hi-Lo 8 or better for € 39,289 at the WSOPE), a second place (2nd in the $ 10), 000 Seven Card Stud Championship for $ 151,700 at the WSOP) and an additional final table (4th in the $ 10,000 Pot Limit Omaha Hi / Lo Championship for $ 150,929 at the WSOP).

2018 WSOP POY Key Information

Leave A Comment

Terms and Conditions apply.
This offer is only for new customers who are at least 18 years old.
If you need some help with yor gambling pattern and if you feel
that something goes wrong, please visit