Unibet Open London will start soon

The Unibet Open Main Event is one of the most prestigious tournaments in the poker industry and its next stop holds in London from May 23 -26. According to the event holders, this year’s Open promises to be captivating.

It is important to know that this will be the 8th time that the Unibet Open holds in London. However, Thanh Doan was the winner of the inaugural Unibet Open London Main Event in 2009, beating a field of 266 players to win a cash prize of £187,000. The 2009 Unibet Open Main Event had a £2,750 buy-in, but the officials are making this year’s buy-in cheaper and accessible to players at £990.

The reigning champion of the event is Andreas Wiborg; he has been the champion since 2018, outclassing 348 opponents to win a £56,807 first-place prize and a place in the Unibet Open Hall of Fame.

The Unibet Main Event is engrossed with poker players with about 3,000 chips. There is an opening of three flights in which the first two flights highlight one-hour blind levels; Day 1c has 20-minutes blinds. Additionally, the Main Event allows only one re-entry on Day 1c but provided a player is removed from Day1A and B.

A Brief History on Unibet Open Main Event

Unibet Open Buy-ins were really expensive in the past. However, the cost has been reduced in subsequent years, thus, making the event very affordable for new poker players to indulge in. It is important to also know that the buy-ins of the event reached a low of £825 back in 2016; at that time, Dave Shallow was the winner of the event and cashed out £62,200.

Unibet Open Main Event Schedule

The Unibet Open London will feature lots of events as it has been before. There will be side-attractions, satellites, and two invitation-only events including the Unibet Tag Team Championship and the Unibet Battle Royale on May 22.

Other features of the Open Main Event include a £2,200 High Roller (May 22-23), the £500 Unibet DSO Cup (May 25-26), £110 #QUEENRULES Ladies Event (May 25), £220 Turbo Bounty (May 25), and the £110 NLH Turbo (May 26).

Unibet Open Malta and Unibet Open Paris

The Unibet Open will also take place in Malta from Sep11-15; the organizers of the event have also stated that the 4th and the final stop will take place in Paris between Nov.28 and Dec. 1

Paris held the Unibet Open Event back in 2012 and Jarosalw Barglik emerged victorious at the event, defeating Kent Lundmark at the final table to win the €140,539 first-place prize.

No account at Unibet yet?

2019 Logo White 320x155 Template

200€ Bonus/Up to 65% Rakeback

Leave A Comment


Lawrence Damilola

Hi Guys, I am Lawrence and I started working for YourPokerDream as a content manager since 2019.
My job is it to manage the news section of YourPokerdream; to write different reviews on our partner sites and create new articles.

· Published 06.05.2019 · last updated 03.06.2019

Terms and Conditions apply.
This offer is only for new customers who are at least 18 years old.
If you need some help with yor gambling pattern and if you feel
that something goes wrong, please visit begambleaware.com