Chris Moneymaker and David Oppenheim joined the list of Poker Hall of Fame players

Hall of fame

During the WSOP Main Event, Chris Moneymaker and David Oppenheim were incorporated as the 57th and 58th Poker Hall of Fame members. These two names joined thirty living Poker Hall of Fame members along with a 21-person media panel voted for in modern poker’s elite.

The Hall of Fame was established in 1979 to rectitude the players who made an invaluable contribution to the development of the poker industry.

There are the following criteria while casting:

  • A candidate must have played poker in an acknowledged top competition.
  • Be not younger than 40 years old.
  • Be a high stakes player.
  • Played very well consistently and gain the respect of peers.
  • Stood the test of time.
  • Demonstrate constant success and growth of the game of poker, with indelible positive and lasting results.

Chris Moneymaker might not satisfy all of the requirements, especially in playing in high stakes games. However, the poker industry can’t deny the significant contribution he made, causing the poker boom after winning the 2003 WSOP Main Event for $2,500,000. He proved to the world that online poker players could be taken seriously and provided a considerable growth after parlaying a win in a satellite at PokerStars into the WSOP Main Event title.
I’m very honored… very happy,” says Moneymaker. “It’s great for my kids — it’ll be a cool thing for them to see when they grow up.”

One the other hand, David Oppenheim, a well-known as a tournament player, won around $2 million in live tournament earnings. However, unlike the other nominees for the 2019 Poker Hall of Fame Class, Oppenheim is yet to win a WSOP bracelet or any major poker title.

The 46-year-old American is one of the best tournament poker players of our time. He started his poker career when he was 19 years old.

Being recognized as one of the all-time greats by my peers is truly humbling, and I am honored to have been selected to the Poker Hall of Fame,” said Oppenheim about his induction. “I have been so fortunate to be able to do what I love for a living. I never planned to be a professional poker player; rather, it was a passion that became my job. People often ask me, how does one become a professional poker player? The answer is hard work, and that goes for everyone that plays at the highest level. From the time I began playing, I was incredibly passionate about poker, and it led to me being able to travel this road that has been traveled by very few. Again, I am extremely grateful to be receiving this honor. Thank you.”

Poker Hall of Fame Current Members

Member Year Member Year Member Year
Tom Abdo 1982 Barry Greenstein 2011 Johnny Moss 1979
Crandell Addington 2005 Jennifer Harman 2015 Daniel Negreanu 2014
Bobby Baldwin 2003 Dan Harrington 2010 Scotty Nguyen 2013
Billy Baxter 2006 Murph Harrold 1984 David Oppenheim 2019
Lyle Berman 2002 Phil Hellmuth 2007 Henry Orenstein 2008
Joe Bernstein 1983 John Hennigan 2018 Walter “Puggy” Pearson 1987
Benny Binion 1990 James Butler “Wild Bill” Hickok 1979 Julius Oral Popwell 1996
Jack Binion 2005 Red Hodges 1985 Thomas Austin “Amarillo Slim” Preston 1992
Bill Boyd 1981 Edmond Hoyle 1979 David “Chip” Reese 1991
Doyle Brunson 1988 Phil Ivey 2017 Brian “Sailor” Roberts 2012
Todd Brunson 2016 Linda Johnson 2011 Erik Seidel 2010
Johnny Chan 2002 Berry Johnston 2004 Mike Sexton 2009
T.J. Cloutier 2006 John Juanda 2015 Jack “Treetop” Straus 1988
Nick Dandolos 1979 Jack Keller 1993 Duane “Dewey” Tomko 2008
Eric Drache 2012 Jack McClelland 2014 David “Devilfish” Ulliott 2017
Barbara Enright 2007 Felton McCorquodale 1979 Stu “The Kid” Ungar 2001
Mori Eskandani 2018 Tom McEvoy 2013 Red Winn 1979
Fred “Sarge” Ferris 1989 Chris Moneymaker 2019 Sid Wyman 1979
Henry Green 1986 Roger Moore 1997
T “Blondie” Forbes 1980 Carlos Mortensen 2016
Leave A Comment


Lawrence Damilola

Hi Guys, I am Lawrence and I started working for YourPokerDream as a content manager since 2019.
My job is it to manage the news section of YourPokerdream; to write different reviews on our partner sites and create new articles.

· Published 21.07.2019 · last updated 24.07.2019

Terms and Conditions apply.
This offer is only for new customers who are at least 18 years old.
If you need some help with yor gambling pattern and if you feel
that something goes wrong, please visit